Friday, June 30, 2017

Blog Tour: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams I Review

Summary: Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

Release Date: July 18th, 2017

Publisher: Gatekeeper Press

Rating: 5/5 Stars

The Color Project surpassed all of my expectations. It is not only my favorite book of the year, it is also my favorite debut novel. Sierra Abrams has made me a life-long fan after her spectacular debut. The Color Project was a true piece of art, it is busting at the seems with a vibrant and powerful story that will captivate anyone. The Color Project is for YA Contemporary lovers and haters alike. The Color Project features a raw and delectable story that is quickly devoured. I do not have enough words in my vocabulary to properly describe my love for The Color Project.

I could easily see myself interacting and befriending the characters of The Color Project. They were a spunky and lively group that anyone would be lucky to be a part of. Do not even get me started on Levi, he is too precious for our world and theirs. He is the perfect companion and if you do take my advice and read The Color Project, please remember that he is mine. But, more importantly, he is Bee's and their relationship is one of my absolute favorites. They have natural chemistry and their love for each other is one that I envy and hope to find one day. 

In addition to the bubbly characters and romance, the story also includes a family dynamic that is closely tied to the story. Although most teens have families and many are constantly surrounded and encouraged by them,  YA novels seem to forget that fact and the significant inclusion of a healthy family dynamic in The Color Project was a rarity for YA. The Wescott family was a close front that had me laughing and crying. Sierra Abrams has a gift when it comes to character development. I absolutely fell in love with the characters of The Color Project. I felt their love and happiness as well as their pain and sadness. I cried with them and laughed with them. I have never felt this emotionally exhausted after finishing a book since The Book Thief. I commend Sierra Abrams yet also want to ask her why she is a monster. 

Each chapter of the story begins with a particular song and throughout the story I listened to whatever song corresponded with the chapter I was reading. The songs added such depth to the book that I never knew was possible. While the story was compelling on it's own, the music heightened my emotions and made the story even more impactful. I highly recommend listening to the music as you read along. I cannot typically read with music or noises; however, The Color Project made me realize that music can add so much more to a story. It felt as though I was watching the story unfold on a TV or in a move theater. The novel also introduced me to new bands and music that I never would have heard of otherwise. I also appreciate the time Sierra put into choosing the music for the novel. It shows the dedication and love she put into the crafting of this novel. 

The narration Sierra brought to the story was relatable and captivating. I was able to easily identify with Bee's voice. Her humor and personality were very similar to mine. I could easily see myself thinking (or even saying) the same things as her. Her narration was funny and flowed seamlessly. It never felt forced. She was a fantastic narrator and I loved being in her head. I constantly found myself smiling and laughing along with her. However, I also found myself frowning and crying as well. Bee's story was painful at times, but life always is. There is always some bad with the good.

The Color Project is a true masterpiece. The story is truly unique and deserves to be in the hands of countless readers. I highly recommend preordering or purchasing your copy of The Color Project on July 18th. Sierra crafted a novel full of life, love, pain, disrepair, acceptance, and  moving-on that I never knew I needed. I cannot convey how much this story moved me and how deeply attached to it and it's characters I grew. The Color Project was an amazing book that that I could forever reread. I am excited to see what Sierra writes next and where her novels will take her, I can only imagine the success ahead of her.

At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream.

Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds... Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above.

When she's not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.

Follow the Tour:
Monday June 19
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Interview - Brittany´sBookRambles
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Review - ReadsandThoughts
Tuesday June 20
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Excerpt of The Color Project - TheYABookTraveler
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Review - TheHermitLibrarian   

Wednesday June 21
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - YAandWine
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -Guest Post - LimeLightLiterature
Thursday June 22
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - AvdReader
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - DIY: The Color Project Bookmarks - LoisReadsBooks

Friday June 23
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Excerpt of The Color Project - TheReader&The Chef
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Mini Review & Favorite Quotes - TheLifeOfABookNerdAddict

Saturday June 24
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Interview - CurlyHairBibliophile  
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Mood Board - WonderfullyBookish
Sunday June 25
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - MorrissaReads
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Guest Post - AThousandWordsAMillionBooks

Monday June 26
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Ways To Support Your Favorite Causes - TalesOfTheRavenousReader
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Review - InkDin

Tuesday June 27
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - ILoveBooksGirl
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Interview - Brooke-Reports

Wednesday June 28
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Book Hangover  - FablesandFae
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Guest Post - Tiffthebooknerd
Thursday June 29
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - BookWyrmingThoughts
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Excerpt - SimplyNicollette

Friday June 30
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - LittleRedsReviews
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Creative Post - LostInEverAfter

Saturday July 1st
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - Biscottosbooks 

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Interview - ANewLookOnBooks

No comments:

Post a Comment