Friday, July 21, 2017

Event Review: Julie Eshbaugh's Library Visit + Giveaway



Find Julie Online:
   
Twitter  I  Instagram  I  Pinterest   


Julie Eshbaugh is the author of Ivory and Bone and Obsidian and Stars, a Young Adult prehistoric duology that features the perfect blend of romance and action. I was fortunate enough to meet Julie Eshbaugh when she visited my local library on her Obsidian and Stars tour on July 8th. Her visit was an absolute blast, I am extremely lucky to have had the opportunity to meet her. 

Julie is an absolute sweetheart and I hope to meet her again in the future. She was extremely personal and it was easy to hold hours of conversation with her. Her talk was informative and captivating; it was a shame when it was over. I could have listened to her for hours. The event seemed more like catching up with an old friend at a local coffee shop than a book event. She was extremely engaging, funny, and kind. I learned so much more about publishing and her journey with the industry. She is a great resource for aspiring authors and I highly recommend picking up her Ivory and Bone duology. I also highly recommend visiting any of her tour stops in the future if she visits your region. It was one of my favorite bookish events that I have attended. I am thankful for Julie's visit.

I read Ivory and Bone prior to her visit and I really enjoyed it. The library actually hosted a book club discussion for Ivory and Bone a couple weeks prior to her visit. The book club meetings are a highlight of my week when we have them. We spoke about Julie's visit at our last meeting and those that I have spoken to that attended the event had a fantastic time and hope to host more events in the future. Julie's visit was an absolute success and I highly recommend taking any chances to meet authors that visit your region.





Giveaway 1:

Two winners will receive an Ivory and Bone and Obsidian and Stars swag pack, which includes bookmarks and a signed bookplate!




Rules:
  • You must be 18 years or older, unless you have a parent's permission
  • This giveaway is open Internationally
  • Once contacted, the winner will have 72 hours to respond with their address, or a new winner will be chosen
  • STARTS July 21st, 2017 at 12:00 a.m. EST 
  • ENDS September 3rd, 2017 at 12:00 a.m. EST

Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any lost or damaged packages







Giveaway #2: 

One winner will receive a signed copy 
of both Ivory and Bone and Obsidian and Stars





Rules:
  • You must be 18 years or older, unless you have a parent's permission
  • This giveaway is only open to the U.S.
  • Once contacted, the winner will have 72 hours to respond with their address, or a new winner will be chosen
  • STARTS July 21st, 2017 at 12:00 a.m. EST 
  • ENDS September 3rd, 2017 at 12:00 a.m. EST

Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any lost or damaged packages


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Good luck! 








(Julie Eshbaugh and Me)

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Summary: The rom-com that everyone’s talking about! Eleanor & Park meets Bollywood in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about two Indian-American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways (Via Goodreads.com).

Pages: 378

Release Date: May 30th, 2017

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Review:

When Dimple Met Rishi is the perfect Young Adult Contemporary novel for anytime of the year. It is one of the best YA debuts I have ever read and it is one of my favorite novels of the year. When Dimple Met Rishi features an adorable romance and two main characters that I would love to befriend in real life. When Dimple Met Rishi is a must-read YA contemporary novel for any YA lover.

Rishi is the most romantic male YA character I have ever encountered. He is constantly courting Dimple and thinking of adorable dates for the two of them to enjoy. He is an absolute sweetheart and I loved his dedication and appreciation for comics. Dimple was also a fantastic heroine. While I have yet to throw an iced coffee on anyone, I related to her determination and fierceness. I could also easily relate to her fear of the future and her unwillingness to give up her future for someone else. Together they made the perfect match.

I just recently returned home from Washington D.C. where I attended the Washington Journalism and Media Conference, a six-day journalism/media conference held at George Mason University. I had never attended a summer camp prior to WJMC. While I read When Dimple Met Rishi before leaving for the conference, I was able to fall more in love with the novel after my experience at WJMC.

I never thought you could fall in love with a person in a couple of months like Dimple and Rishi; however, I was able to fall in love with a group of people in six days at WJMC. I can never doubt characters ability to fall in love so fast because I truly made life-long friends at WJMC. If you can attend any summer camp that interests you, I highly recommend taking the chance. I was extremely nervous to be in a new city and new university with people I had never met, but it was one of the best experiences of my life. 

This was the first time I had read a book that featured Indian-American main characters. My only prior exposure to Indian culture was two years ago in school when we watched Bend It Like Beckham, which follows a British Indian main character, and the country of India was our topic of Academic Decathlon two years ago as well. However, AcaDec focused more on the history of the country, not the people and their culture. It was fascinating to learn more about Indian culture and I am glad that Sandhya is going to continue to publish stories featuring characters who lack representation in the publishing industry.  

When Dimple Met Rishi was an addictive and delectable YA contemporary novel that I could not get enough of. I am extremely excited for it's companion novel, When Ashish Met Sweetie, which follows Rishi's younger brother, Ashish. I am also excited for Sandhya's other YA contemporary novel From Twinkle, With Love. Sandhya's YA debut, When Dimple Met Rishi, was an absolute treat, I cannot wait to see where her stories take her. If you have yet to read When Dimple Met Rishi, I highly recommend doing so. 




Friday, July 7, 2017

Blog Tour: Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga #2) by Kiersten White I Review




Summary: Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?

As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost. 


Release Date: June 27th, 2017

PublisherDelacorte Press


Amazon  I  B&N  I  iBooks  I  Audible  I  Book Depository


Add it to Goodreads



Rating: 4.5/5 Stars


Now I Rise is the second installment in Kiersten White's new Young Adult historical fiction trilogy. I absolutely loved the first novel in the trilogy, And I Darken, which you can read my review of here. The trilogy is a gender-bender retelling of Vlad the Impaler. And I Darken follows the Dracul siblings, Lada and Radu, as they navigate the political intrigue of the Ottoman court. And I Darken was one of my favorite books of last year and Now I Rise was one of my most highly anticipated releases of this year

Now I Rise did not disappoint, it was the perfect sequel to And I Darken. Now I Rise further developed the characters and their relationships while also including countless action sequences. While And I Darken featured some bada** scenes, Now I Rise brought bada** to a new level. This trilogy is perfect for lovers of every YA genre, it is a thrilling, empowering, and captivating trilogy that hooked me from the first page. 

I absolutely adore the characters of the trilogy. Radu is a precious cinnamon roll and Lada is the fiercest female warrior. Now I Rise featured the perfect amount of emotional and self-identity challenges. While the trilogy is bada**, it is a coming-of-age journey at it's core. Lada and Radu are both facing different challenges when it comes to their identity; however, their story lines paralleled each other throughout the course of the novel. While they were not struggling with my pressing decisions, college and my senior year of high school, I was still able to identity with their struggles of self-discovery. They are both used to being so dependent on themselves that they struggle with confiding in themselves when they do not completely understand who they are becoming.

The novels are gorgeous on both the inside and the outside. This trilogy is absolutely blessed with gorgeous covers. The color schemes for each of the covers are beautiful and the cover designs themselves are stunning. I cannot wait to see the final cover of the final book in the trilogy. This trilogy will always have a permanent place on my bookshelf as one of my favorite trilogies and as some of my favorite cover designs.  

The third and final novel in this trilogy is one of my most highly anticipated novels for next year. Now I Rise left the characters in interesting predicaments that I am curious to see resolved. Although it is saddening to know that I will be saying goodbye to these characters in the next novel, I have loved the journey I have gone on with these characters. Nonetheless, I am sad to see my time with them end so soon. If you have yet to start this trilogy, I highly recommend doing so. The Conqueror's Saga is for history lovers and haters alike. It is truly an epic YA historical fiction coming-of-age trilogy they deeply delves into self-identity while also featuring a fierce female lead that could give any superhero a run for their money.





3 Winners will receive a finished copy of NOW I RISE,

US Only.


a Rafflecopter giveaway





Kiersten White is the NYT bestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy, the Mind Games series, Illusions of Fate, The Chaos of Stars, In the Shadows with artist Jim Di Bartolo, and the upcoming historical reimagining, And I Darken. 

She has one tall husband and three small children and lives near the ocean, where her life is perfectly normal. 

Visit her at www.kierstenwhite.com.






Tour Schedule:

Week One:
6/19/2017- BookfeverExcerpt
6/20/2017- Lisa Loves LiteratureReview
6/21/2017- Two Chicks on Books- Interview
6/22/2017- FiktshunReview
6/23/2017- Carina's BooksReview

Week Two:
6/26/2017- Dazzled by BooksReview
6/27/2017- Books and ThingsReview
6/28/2017- Rattle the StarsReview
6/29/2017- YABCReview
6/30/2017- Once Upon A TwilightReview

Week Three:
7/3/2017- Adventures of a Book JunkieInterview
7/4/2017- Seeing Double In NeverlandReview
7/5/2017- Fiction FareReview
7/6/2017- YA and WineReview
7/7/2017- Little Red's ReviewsReview





Friday, June 30, 2017

Blog Tour: The Color Project by Sierra Abrams I Review




Summary: Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

Release Date: July 18th, 2017

Publisher: Gatekeeper Press









Rating: 5/5 Stars

The Color Project surpassed all of my expectations. It is not only my favorite book of the year, it is also my favorite debut novel. Sierra Abrams has made me a life-long fan after her spectacular debut. The Color Project was a true piece of art, it is busting at the seems with a vibrant and powerful story that will captivate anyone. The Color Project is for YA Contemporary lovers and haters alike. The Color Project features a raw and delectable story that is quickly devoured. I do not have enough words in my vocabulary to properly describe my love for The Color Project.

I could easily see myself interacting and befriending the characters of The Color Project. They were a spunky and lively group that anyone would be lucky to be a part of. Do not even get me started on Levi, he is too precious for our world and theirs. He is the perfect companion and if you do take my advice and read The Color Project, please remember that he is mine. But, more importantly, he is Bee's and their relationship is one of my absolute favorites. They have natural chemistry and their love for each other is one that I envy and hope to find one day. 

In addition to the bubbly characters and romance, the story also includes a family dynamic that is closely tied to the story. Although most teens have families and many are constantly surrounded and encouraged by them,  YA novels seem to forget that fact and the significant inclusion of a healthy family dynamic in The Color Project was a rarity for YA. The Wescott family was a close front that had me laughing and crying. Sierra Abrams has a gift when it comes to character development. I absolutely fell in love with the characters of The Color Project. I felt their love and happiness as well as their pain and sadness. I cried with them and laughed with them. I have never felt this emotionally exhausted after finishing a book since The Book Thief. I commend Sierra Abrams yet also want to ask her why she is a monster. 

Each chapter of the story begins with a particular song and throughout the story I listened to whatever song corresponded with the chapter I was reading. The songs added such depth to the book that I never knew was possible. While the story was compelling on it's own, the music heightened my emotions and made the story even more impactful. I highly recommend listening to the music as you read along. I cannot typically read with music or noises; however, The Color Project made me realize that music can add so much more to a story. It felt as though I was watching the story unfold on a TV or in a move theater. The novel also introduced me to new bands and music that I never would have heard of otherwise. I also appreciate the time Sierra put into choosing the music for the novel. It shows the dedication and love she put into the crafting of this novel. 

The narration Sierra brought to the story was relatable and captivating. I was able to easily identify with Bee's voice. Her humor and personality were very similar to mine. I could easily see myself thinking (or even saying) the same things as her. Her narration was funny and flowed seamlessly. It never felt forced. She was a fantastic narrator and I loved being in her head. I constantly found myself smiling and laughing along with her. However, I also found myself frowning and crying as well. Bee's story was painful at times, but life always is. There is always some bad with the good.

The Color Project is a true masterpiece. The story is truly unique and deserves to be in the hands of countless readers. I highly recommend preordering or purchasing your copy of The Color Project on July 18th. Sierra crafted a novel full of life, love, pain, disrepair, acceptance, and  moving-on that I never knew I needed. I cannot convey how much this story moved me and how deeply attached to it and it's characters I grew. The Color Project was an amazing book that that I could forever reread. I am excited to see what Sierra writes next and where her novels will take her, I can only imagine the success ahead of her.















At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream.

Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds... Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above.

When she's not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.








Follow the Tour:
Monday June 19
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Interview - Brittany´sBookRambles
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Review - ReadsandThoughts
 
Tuesday June 20
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Excerpt of The Color Project - TheYABookTraveler
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Review - TheHermitLibrarian   

Wednesday June 21
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - YAandWine
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -Guest Post - LimeLightLiterature
-
Thursday June 22
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - AvdReader
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - DIY: The Color Project Bookmarks - LoisReadsBooks


Friday June 23
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Excerpt of The Color Project - TheReader&The Chef
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Mini Review & Favorite Quotes - TheLifeOfABookNerdAddict

Saturday June 24
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Interview - CurlyHairBibliophile  
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Mood Board - WonderfullyBookish
Sunday June 25
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - MorrissaReads
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Guest Post - AThousandWordsAMillionBooks


Monday June 26
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Ways To Support Your Favorite Causes - TalesOfTheRavenousReader
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Review - InkDin

Tuesday June 27
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - ILoveBooksGirl
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Interview - Brooke-Reports

Wednesday June 28
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Book Hangover  - FablesandFae
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Guest Post - Tiffthebooknerd
Thursday June 29
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - BookWyrmingThoughts
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST - Excerpt - SimplyNicollette

Friday June 30
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - LittleRedsReviews
In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Creative Post - LostInEverAfter

Saturday July 1st
In The Morning at 8:00 AM EST - Review - Biscottosbooks 

In The Afternoon at 1:00 PM EST -  Interview - ANewLookOnBooks